• Clubs & Afterschool Activities     

    The Student Life Program at Millennium consists of 25+ activities that support leadership development, creative expression, social responsibility, healthy lifestyles, civic engagement, and cultural awareness. All extracurricular activities are created based on student interest.  If there is a club you would like to start that is not listed here, please contact Mr. Becker (dbecker@millenniumhs.org) or come to the main office (on the 13th floor) for a new club proposal form.

    For questions about a club or afterschool activity, please email the faculty contact directly (see below for their email addresses) and also see the attached room schedule regarding which days/rooms clubs or homework help are meeting:

    2021.2022 Club Locations And Meeting Times


     
    Art Loft
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Battagliola (abattagliola@millenniumhs.org)
    No prior art experience needed.  Art Loft is a non-academic, safe space to explore a student's creative side, thoughts, feelings, and individuality.  Art work is not judged for technique or skill; rather, students are encouraged to become immersed in the creative process, express themselves visually, and potentially de-stress.  Paint, clay, sculpture, drawing materials, crafts, collage, and more will be provided.  Students may come as often as they want, weekly attendance is not mandatory.  
     
    Best Buddies
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Walton (jwalton@schools.nyc.gov)
     
    BLSU
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Wan Reid (swanreid@millenniumhs.org)  
     
    Chinese Culture Club
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Chau (achau@millenniumhs.org)
    Our mission is to go into depth about Chinese culture and the fascinating intricacies of China that Mandarin class at Millennium does not discuss. We aim to instruct Millennium students who plan to take the AP Mandarin test.
     
    COSA (Coordinators of Student Activities)
    Faculty Contacts: Ms. Finkelstein (jfinkelstein@millenniumhs.org) & Ms. Peterkin (opeterkin@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Design Club
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Wilson (lwilson@millenniumhs.org) 
     
    Drama Club 
    Faculty Contact: Mr. Garfinkel (ngarfinkel@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Fitness Club
    Faculty Contact:  Mr. Bova (mbova@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Girl Rising
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Walton (jwalton@millenniumhs.org)
    Girl Rising is a global non-profit organization that works on improving girls’ education in areas that do not provide education for girls. Girl Rising aims to spread awareness of this issue by making films about girls who struggle to get an education.
      
    Green Team / Sustainability Team
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Kong (jkong@millenniumhs.org)
    The Green Team is a student-led group that aims to help Millennium "Go Green" by educating students and staff about sustainable habits. Our activities in the past have included: starting a worm condo and compost project and fundraising through a Spring Plant Sale and a Used-Book Drive.  We also host an annual reusable school supply collection in June to be available the following school year. One of our most successful projects is our community farm, which we started with The Battery Conservancy in November 2010. We also work closely with the Student Senate to maintain our school's #ERASETHEWASTE program. We plan to continue these efforts this year and we welcome any other ideas you may have! 
     
    Jewish Student Union
    Faculty Contact: TBA
     
    Key Club
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Kallus (jkallus@millenniumhs.org)
    Key Club International is the high school organization sponsored by Kiwanis International. Key Club assists Kiwanis in carrying out its mission to serve the children of the world. High school student members of Key Club perform acts of service in their communities, such as cleaning up parks, collecting clothing and organizing food drives. They also learn leadership skills by running meetings, planning projects and holding elected leadership positions at the club, district and international levels.
      
    LGBTQ+ Art Space
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Battagliola (abattagliola@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Stasavage (mstasavage@millenniumhs.org)
    The first seeds of FLUX Magazine were planted by a group of excited juniors with a passion for writing, drawing, and creating. Our vision was a magazine where we could create a platform for students to channel their creative forces, to celebrate their hard work, and to inspire others. Check out our latest issue of Flux!
     
    Math Team
    Faculty Contacts:  Ms. Dang (mdang@millenniumhs.org) & Mr. Kline (bkline@millenniumhs.org)
       
    Model UN
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Wilson (lwilson@millenniumhs.org)
    Represent various countries in the United Nations. Debate real world issues and try to resolve these issues amongst the different nations. 
     
    Newspaper
    Faculty Contact: TBA
      
    Operation Smile
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Finkelstein (jfinkelstein@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Photography Club
    Faculty Contact:  Ms. Difilippo (ldifilippo@millenniumhs.org)
    The purpose of Photography club is to give MHS students an outlet to explore their creative interests and skills in photography. The members of the club will agree upon themes such as architecture, fashion, portraits, etc., and take trips to different locations to take pictures.
     
    Email the coaches of the teams you are interested in as early as possible to inquire about tryouts, practice and other relevant information.
      
    Red Cross
    Faculty Contact: Mr. Gee (bgee@millenniumhs.org)
     
    School of Rock
    Faculty Contacts:  Mr. Garfinkel (ngarfinkel@millenniumhs.org)
    School of Rock is an after-school music program that provides an opportunity for students to learn the music they'd like to play (guitar, bass, drums, keyboard, etc.) and then join bands with other MHS students. 
     
    Spanish Heritage Culture Club
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Upton Green (euptongreen@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Speech & Debate
    Faculty Contact: TBA
     
    Wellness Club
    Faculty Contact: Ms. Finkelstein (jfinkelstein@millenniumhs.org)
     
    Yearbook
    Faculty Contacts: Ms. Tyldesley (rtyldesley@millenniumhs.org) & Ms. Wan-Reid (swanreid@millenniumhs.org)